Review: Justice (Deck of Lies #1) by Jade Varden

JusticeTitle: Justice

Series: Deck of Lies, Book 1

Author: Jade Varden

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

Publication Date: December 24th, 2011

Source: Author

Synopsis

A House of Cards…

When you build an entire life on a foundation of lies, it only takes one truth for the whole thing to come crashing down. I never invited the truth in. I never went searching for it. I never had any reason to suspect that the two people I loved most were dishonest with me every second of every day.

I made one bad decision, and in a single day my entire world changed. If I’m ever going to discover the truth about myself and my parents, I have to trace all the lies back to their source. I have to try to find the truth that they’re hiding.

The more I discover about myself, and my past, the more I realize that lies really are better than the truth. But now that I know the lies are all around me, I can’t stop until I’ve discovered them all. I’ll pull each lie away, one by one, and examine it to see what’s underneath…until this house of cards crumbles into dust at my feet.

I just hope I can survive the crash.

Addtogoodreads

**A copy was provided for review purposes**

Review

Rain gets a full scholarship to Sloane Academy where she gets on the bad side of Carsyn, the queen bee who plays a nasty trick that lands her in trouble. The life that Rain once knew comes crashing down around her when Rain discovers the family she knew was not her real family she is left with questions. Everything she thought she knew was based on lies and she’s determined to get to the bottom of it.

Rain feels out of place in her new home, with parents she doesn’t know, a sister who hates her and a boy she dates who turns out to be someone she shouldn’t see.

I was hooked from the start, the plot was interesting and very well written. At first I didn’t really know what to expect as the synopsis doesn’t really give much away but I’m so glad I accepted the request to review.

After reading other reviews I had the impression Justice was going to be predictable but I was wrong. It’s full of twists and turns that we’re totally unexpected.

I loved the character building, Rain was any easy character to love and I felt sympathetic towards her throughout most of the story. Carsyn on the other hand was a complete witch and I disliked her straight away. River I want to get to know more as I feel we didn’t get to know him as much as I would have liked, there’s something quiet about him and I want to know why.

The ending left me shocked as I totally wasn’t expecting it, a great way to end the book and I definitely want to read the next instalment ‘The Tower’ to find out what really happened and who’s responsible.

Overall ‘Justice’ was a fun read and I’m glad I don’t have to wait for the others in the series as I hate cliffhangers and really want to know what comes next.

4 Rating

Ashton

Leave a Reply

