Review: Spitfire (Puffin Cove #1) by Carla Doolin

SpitfireTitle: Spitfire

Series: Puffin Cove, Book 1

Author: Carla Doolin

Age Group: Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: June 2013

Source: Author

Synopsis

Kane has friends. He is content. He carves his celebrated birds and farms on his little slice of heaven in Puffin Cove, Newfoundland, and heals from the tragedy that sent him fleeing from his homeland. But one look at a beautiful redhead in a quiet pub, and the life he has so carefully rebuilt tilts on its axis.

Laura knows there must be something better out there. This is the only life she is going to get, and dammit, she isn’t going to waste one more day. When she runs away from home she certainly doesn’t expect to fall instantly in love with a small east coast town, and a crusty, sexy Irishman.

As Kane and Laura explore the beauty of the land and a love that they never knew could exist, their fears for the future and the scars of the past threaten to tear apart a perfect forever.

Addtogoodreads

**A copy was provided for review purposes**

Review

Laura decides to pack up and move, being thirty-eight, almost thirty-nine with two  grown sons who no longer live with her has left her wanting more. She decides to move to Newfoundland after visiting there previously with her mom and sons. Laura finds herself in Puffin Cove on her first night and falls in love with the place instantly.

Kane moves to Puffin Cove from Ireland after a tragic accident leaving him unable to stay in his homeland. Five years has passed before he’s ready to move on and grab life with both hands. He’s a well known artist and a great man.

This story is great, it’s not your typical boy meets girl and falls in love, instead it’s a man meets a woman who have both suffered from previous relationships and are ready to try again. The writing was well done, except from Kane’s speech at first which I had some trouble with but soon got the hang of it, it helps thinking of my dream man (Gerard Butler) as Kane!

Both the main characters were easy to like and I admired how strong Laura is. Unhappy with her life, deciding to move away from home and start all over again takes some guts. Her passion for her work was awesome to see and even though she’d retired before the book started I’m glad we got insight in the reason why during a conversation between her and Kane. Kane was also easy to love as he’s so laid back, maybe not at first with Laura but that didn’t last. He’s so thoughtful and sexy, not to mention his accent! Irish is my #1 accent so this was a major bonus!!!

I loved how descriptive Carla was with the surroundings, I could easily picture Puffin cove in my mind, I prefer reading a book and being able to visualise which I was able to do in lots of detail. Puffin Cove sounds amazing, it’s definitely a place I’d love to visit as it sounds so relaxing and just flat out awesome. The habitants are all welcoming and friendly too, and being right near the ocean with icebergs wins points.

A truly great read! I’m so glad I got to see a teaser of ‘Sweetness’ as I loved both Jill and Landon almost as much as Laura and Kane and can’t wait to read their story.

5 rating

Ashton

CarlaAbout the Author

From the author: I live with my wonderful hubby and two happy dogs in Central Ontario, Canada. My sons are grown and living the life, and I finally have time to pursue one of my passions. I have a lot of them! I love to read, and mostly read contemporary romance…and tour books! I’m a classically trained pianist, a voracious knitter (sounds like an oxymoron, doesn’t it?) and a fledgling Harley rider. I’m also a full-time NICU RN, which seriously cuts into my writing time!

My books are adult contemporary romances about ‘real life’ fictional people. They have the same normal, goofy, angsty lives that we all do. If you’re looking for a gabillionaire or a dominatrix, you won’t find them here. More’s the pity. My biggest inspiration is travel. Whenever I visit a new and wonderful place, i romaticize the people i meet and the vistas i see. Beauty is all around us, and i love inserting love into the majesty of the land

If you were to ask me what advice i would give to an aspiring author in regards to writing, i would tell you to just let it flow. Read what you love, live a rich and full life, talk to everyone you meet, and write what is in your heart. That’s what i do.

You can find Carla at : Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter |
One thought on “Review: Spitfire (Puffin Cove #1) by Carla Doolin

Leave a Reply

