Review: Elite (Eagle Elite #1) by Rachel Van Dyken

Elite (Eagle Elite #1) by Rachel Van DykenTitle: Elite

Series: Eagle Elite, Book 1

Author: Rachel Van Dyken

Age Group: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: July 9th, 2013 by Forever (first published April 14th, 2013)

Source: NetGalley

Synopsis

When I won the annual Eagle Elite College Scholarship lottery, I was thrilled. After all, my grandma had just died and I wanted to take care of my aging grandpa — he couldn’t be a farmer in Wyoming forever. And graduating from Eagle Elite meant opportunity.
But I wasn’t counting on meeting Nixon.

Nor was I counting on the rules of the Elect.

1. Do not touch The Elect.

2. Do not look at The Elect.

3. Do not speak to The Elect.

And worst of all? Don’t discover the secret they hide, because in the end, you may just realize… it’s about you.

Addtogoodreads

**A copy was provided for review purposes**

Review

Trace wins a scholarship to Eagle Elite in hopes of making her Grandpa proud. At first she’s taken back at how people act, especially Nixon, who’s a right pain. Nixon along with three other lads are the Elect, the main bodies of Eagle Elite and make Trace’s life hell.

Shortly after starting college Trace finds out a secret that was meant to be kept hidden, at least from her. Nixon has completely turned his attitude around, but is short lived.

I loved the plot to this story, it was just so different but totally awesome. After hearing it was a mob story I had my doubts but I shouldn’t have as I completely enjoyed it.

Poor Trace, being lied to by her own family, and having to almost be killed before the truth is revealed. I felt really bad for Trace at first. Going away to college is a scary thing as its new and leaving home for the first time is the same. I had whiplash from the way Nixon treated her and totally wanted to kick him where the sun doesn’t shine, even if he is easy on the eyes, it’s still no excuse.

Monroe and Chase were my favourite characters. Monroe was easy to like as she took Trace under her wing straight away and even defended her from everyone else, winning plenty of stars from me. I didn’t like Chase at first, especially after the incident at the party! But I soon warmed up to him and was happy at how their friendship developed.

I totally don’t know who I prefer for Trace! I love a bad boy and Nixon is definitely one, but I love the way Chase treats her, and they both defend her when it counts.

Elite is full of anger, hurt, betrayal and the average college bitchiness with a bit of love thrown in too. Definitely one to read!

5 rating

Ashton

Leave a Reply

