Author Interview: Carla Doolin

Today I’m very happy to welcome Carla Doolin, Author of the Puffin Cove Series to Morphys’ Book Blog.

Hi Carla, thank you for joining us today, I’m excited to have you here as I loved your work, YAY!

How did you get into writing?

It was a dark and stormy night….no really. It was. I’ve been writing since, well, since I could write. I’ve loved reading contemporary romance since I graduated from Dr. Seuss, so it seemed a natural progression. When I finally decided to actually write a whole novel, Spitfire was born.

What inspired you to write the Puffin Cove series?

The people and majesty of Newfoundland. It truly is a wonderful place, and the people are so warm. If you can understand them ;). Once you get a hold of the accent, you realize that they really mean what they say when they welcome you.

Is Puffin Cove a real place or your imagination?

Puffin Cove exists only in my mind and in my books, but it is fashioned after a small town I once stayed in on the east coast of Newfoundland, and peppered with people I met and places I visited. The rest of the towns that Kane and Laura visit are real, beautiful, and so worth visiting.

If made into a film what would be your dream cast?

It’s so hard to answer this one. They are so alive in my head that it’s hard to pick a hero and heroine. But I’ve heard that several of my readers pictured Gerard Butler as their Kane, and I was thinking maybe Kate Beckinsale could be my Laura. But I’ll leave it up to the readers to pick their favourites.

I have to admit Gerard Butler is my future husband and Kate Beckinsale is my girl crush so that would make me a very happy person, I’m with you on this one! =)

Who was your favourite character to write and why?

Without a doubt, Shannon. She just came alive on my keyboard. I take absolutely no credit (or blame!). She made me laugh out loud in the wee hours of the morning.

What are you working on now?

Last fall I had the great honour to visit the beautiful country of Ireland, and fell hopelessly and forever in love. A Fine Soft Day takes place in the County of Clare, and follows the quest of Finley Malone to find a brother she never knew she had. What she finds along the way is a complication that she doesn’t know if she can handle.

What genres do you prefer to read?

I almost exclusively read contemporary romance. Sometimes I’ll read historical romance, a little paranormal, a little erotica, but I am a happy ever after addict.

Who is your favourite author and book?

I would have to say that Nora Roberts is my favourite author, as I can read her books over and over. She just has a way of turning a phrase that flows through my mind and always makes me feel good. Strangely enough, she did not write my favourite book. That distinction goes to Harper Lee, who wrote To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve read that book at different stages of my life, and each time I read it I take something more from it.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Writing is my passion, my husband is my love, and cooking is my hobby. In between that, I hang with my sons, play the piano, knit, torture my poor guitar, make the neighbourhood’s dogs’ ears bleed with my Irish flute, go camping, and read in every spare moment.

If you could have one superpower what would it be and why?

Teleportation! Imagine how cool it would be to just snap your fingers or wiggle your nose like Samantha Stevens, or grab onto a port key or blow on some flue powder and be somewhere else. I’d go to Newfoundland or Ireland every weekend!

Thank you so much for joining us Carla, happy writing! I look forward to reading more of your work!

Here’s Spitfire, book 1 in the Puffin Cove Series. You can find my reviewHERE.

SpitfireSynopsis

Kane has friends. He is content. He carves his celebrated birds and farms on his little slice of heaven in Puffin Cove, Newfoundland, and heals from the tragedy that sent him fleeing from his homeland. But one look at a beautiful redhead in a quiet pub, and the life he has so carefully rebuilt tilts on its axis.

Laura knows there must be something better out there. This is the only life she is going to get, and dammit, she isn’t going to waste one more day. When she runs away from home she certainly doesn’t expect to fall instantly in love with a small east coast town, and a crusty, sexy Irishman.

As Kane and Laura explore the beauty of the land and a love that they never knew could exist, their fears for the future and the scars of the past threaten to tear apart a perfect forever.

418da-addtogoodreads

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N |

Sweetness, book 2 in the Puffin Cove series.You can find my review HERE.

imageSynopsis

Jillian Snow Bainbridge is the darling of coastal Puffin Cove, Newfoundland. A native daughter, a young mother, a widow. The little pixie charms everyone she meets with her quick wit, her cheeky smile, and her sinfully delicious baking. Everyone, that is, except the audaciously gorgeous Landon Blood.

These two have had claws out and swords brandished at each other since they were in diapers. But on a stormy winter night, their weapons of self-preservation malfunction, and the thick veneer they’ve formed against each other cracks.

As they begin to explore a terrifying and exhilarating new facet of their relationship, the carefully stitched edges of Landon’s psyche begin to unravel, and Jill is powerless to stop the demon in Landon’s soul from destroying the only love they’ve ever wanted.

418da-addtogoodreads

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N |

Leave a Reply

