Author Interview: Lucy Leiderman

Today i’m pleased to welcome Lucy Leiderman to Morphys’ Book Blog for an interview!

What inspired you to write Lives of Magic?

This story has gone through so many transitions I’ve lost track. I meant to write a children’s book about global warming…and then the whole thing kind of took on a life of its own. I did a lot of travelling and ended up infusing a lot of my own ideas about permanence and purpose into the story. What I had was pretty far from the middle-grade fiction novel I wanted to write, but I feel it was meant to be this way. The story developed itself.

Do you plan how the book is going to end before-hand or does it develop as you write?

I always plan. I plan meticulously and write everything out. However, the story never goes the way I foresee it going. The characters will sort of get away from me and develop in ways I didn’t imagine, and in the end determine their own destinies…if that makes sense. I sometimes have a hint of how things will end or how characters will react, but ultimately I don’t know until I see it on the page.

Who was your favourite character to write and why?

Kian has always been a mystery to me. He is not the character I set out to write. While all the other characters have a special place in my heart, I feel a lot more familiar with them and can predict them better. Kian’s always been a wild card

If Lives of Magic was made into a movie what would your dream cast be?

I always thought this book would make an excellent Studio Ghibli movie. I never really imagined it as a live action film and can’t think of any celebrities that currently fit my vision of the characters. I suppose if it’s made into a movie, the people playing the title roles aren’t famous yet! I do, however, see people on the street sometimes that remind me in appearance of my characters. And then I stare at them until they get uncomfortable.

I know Lives of Magic is due out January 2014, when can we expect book two?

That’s a very good question. I have no idea. I’ve got it all planned out and now just need to sit down and write, but my publisher would ultimately determine that.

What are you working on now?

I’ve got a notebook full of book plots so I’m trying to explore that whenever I have the time. I’m currently finishing up another fantasy novel, but a high fantasy, set in an alternate world in a different time. Maybe we’ll have some news soon on what’s to become of that.

What are your favourite genres/authors and books?

I love children’s books for their imagination but also their simplicity. What’s good is good, what’s bad is bad, and all is well in the end. I’ve read everything Diana Wynne Jones has ever written, so she’s definitely my favourite author. The way she ties everything up into a neat little bow at the end is so perfect. Her Dalemark Quartet is my favourite series, but Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle is my favourite character.

Thank you for joining us today Lucy =)

Books by Lucy

Lives of Magic

a3a23-addtogoodreads

Leave a Reply

