Blog Tour: Stolen Songbird (Malediction Trilogy #1) by Danielle L. Jensen

Stolen Songbird banner

Today I have Danielle L. Jensen, Author of Stolen Songbird at Morphys’ Book Blog for an interview. I have been so excited for today. I really enjoyed Stolen Songbird and if you’re a fan of Fantasy Romance I bet you will too.

Tell us a little about yourself…
I live in Calgary, which is in Canada. I’ve lived here all my life, but I’ve been working out of town for the past eight months or so, which has been a big change. I used to work in finance, but my daydreaming skills weren’t really of much value in an office environment, so when I reached a crossroads moment in my life when I had the opportunity to change paths, I did. Now I do all sorts of different jobs, and I fit writing in amongst them.

Why did you first start writing?
A co-worker of mine suggested we try writing a romance novel. I thought it was a brilliant idea, but I substituted the “we” for “I” and went from there. I like to work by myself.

What inspired you to write Stolen Songbird?
A dream I had about a city buried by rubble.

Who was your favourite character to write and why?
Marc. His story is so tragic, but he has such a good heart. I’d love to write a prequel story about him and Penelope.

What actors/famous people do you picture for your characters? Mainly Cecile, Tristan, Marc and Anaïs.
The short answer is that I don’t 🙂
When I close my eyes, I can visualize my characters as though they are people I’ve met in real life. I could certainly choose some famous people who I think resemble them, but it’s been my preference to let people come up with their own mental images based on the descriptions I give in the book. Ugliness and beauty are very much in the eye of the beholder, and I think being able to imagine characters as you want them to be is one of the things that makes reading better than television or movies. That said, I’m always keen to know how readers would cast my characters, so if anyone has suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

What are you working on now?
I’m working on the sequel to Stolen Songbird. My deadline marches closer every day!

What is your poison when writing? (Mine’s hot chocolate with whipped cream, preferably from Costa)
Mmmm, hot chocolate. That sounds delicious. My preference when writing is almost always hot beverages, because my office is always freezing. When I’m writing in the morning, I drink a pot of coffee with cream. If it’s the evening, I drink copious amounts of mint tea.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
The best thing you can do is to keep working at becoming a better writer, because that’s the one thing you really have control over. Other than that, all you can do is be tenacious.

If you had to describe yourself in three words what would they be?
Quiet, ambitious, stubborn.

If you could have one superpower what would it be and why?
Extreme powers of observation like Sherlock Holmes. The superpower of genius. I like the idea that mysteries can be solved by simply noticing what is right in front of you.
Fact: I am not at all observant. A herd of elephants could sneak up on me because I’m always half in la-la land. This makes me a good writer, but, sadly, a poor detective.

Thank you so much for joining us Danielle. 

About the Book
Stolen SongbirdTitle: Stolen Songbird
Series: Malediction Trilogy, book 1
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Publication Date: April 1, 2014 by Strange Chemistry
Synopsis
For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

Addtogoodreads

Goodreads Giveaway (ends 14/04/14)
(5) Advance copies of Stolen Songbird

Enter HERE

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Stolen Songbird (Malediction Trilogy #1) by Danielle L. Jensen

Leave a Reply

