Blog Tour: Stray Ally by Troy Lambert

Today I have Troy Lambert with us for an interview as part of the Stray Ally Blog Tour. Thanks for joining us Troy 🙂

How did you get into writing?

I began writing at six years old. As I left high school I always kept it in the back of my mind, like a dream job. But I did not ever feel like I could make a living doing it, until relatively recently. I have been writing full time at home for about a year now.

What inspired you to write Stray Ally?

The idea for Stray Ally, really the first scene and most of the plot came to me in the middle of the night. The premise, a man who befriends an unusually intelligent dog while in a really tough situation mirrors a time in my life when I met, and afterward adopted, a dog when I was in a really bad place in my life. The book is dedicated to him, as he passed away several years ago.

If made into a film what would be your dream cast?

Ideal? Charlie Hunnam (Sons of Anarchy) as Todd, and John Lithgow as the rogue Colonel. Of course they would be surrounded by an all-star cast.

Who was your favourite character to write and why?

Always tough to answer, but one was Ray, an older famer who helps the hero out of a jam, and as a result gets drawn in for a while. Even though he is a minor character, he is a blend of several of the good ‘ol boys I knew growing up, and just personifies rural Idaho.

What are you working on now?

I’m working on a new dystopian thriller tentatively titled Revival, and after some plotting I fear it may turn into a series. No spoilers here, but watch this space for more news.

What is your poison of choice when writing? (Mine has got to be hot chocolate with whipped cream).

In the morning, coffee. Later in the day, sweet iced tea. I saw recently that Vince Gilligan (creator of Breaking Bad) calls iced tea his “brain juice” so I am adopting his phrase.

What genres do you prefer to read?

I read widely, always have, so I like to read a number of genres. I like sci-fi and fantasy, but my go to, I want to relax and escape genre is suspense/thriller. Probably why I like writing that so much.

Who is your favourite author and book?

All Time: Hard to say, but John Irving A Prayer for Owen Meany is one I have read several times and seem to go back to over and over. Recently? Heath Lowrance’s City of Heretics is a relatively new favourite.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I love the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, skiing, running, and biking all top my list. I need to learn to golf, but I am really bad so far.

If you had to describe yourself in three words what would they be?

Delightful, workaholic writer.

If you could have one superpower what would it be and why?

Super speed, so I could write faster, and keep up with my muse.

Thanks for having me! I appreciate it.

About the Book
Stray AllyTitle: Stray Ally
Series: None
Author: Troy Lambert
Publication Date: March 4, 2014 by Tirgearr Publishing
Buy Link: Tirgearr Publishing
Synopsis
A strange accident on the freeway, accusations of murder, and an encounter in the Idaho wilderness all propel Todd Clarke into a new friendship with a dog named Sparky. But Sparky is no ordinary dog, and there is more going on than Clarke could have imagined.
A military commander he investigated for Aryan activity and links to domestic terrorism is after him, and he’s not sure why until another chance encounter provides the answer.
With Sparky and the help of his canine friends, will he be able to figure out the Colonel’s plan and stop him in time? All Clarke knows for sure is none of it would be possible without the help of his Stray Ally.

Addtogoodreads

Excerpt
Thou shalt not kill.
Not the clearest commandment.
It actually refers to murder.
What I was planning wasn’t murder. It was war.
War.
War was what I trained for.
Step one.
Adequately arm myself.
Sat coms set up.
“Wilson.”
“Clarke.”
“The usual package?”
“Roger that.”
“Delivery?”
I gave him the coordinates. “I need wheels.”
“Chevy or Ford?”
“Chevy.”
“Riggins Park. Thursday. Keys at the hotel, usual spot.”
“Thanks.”
“Clarke?”
“Yeah?”
“Be careful.”
I terminated the connection. Wilson knew this wasn’t official, but he’d still get paid.
I like him. I hope I don’t have to kill him.

About the Author
Troy LambertTroy works as a freelance writer, researcher, and editor. He writes historical site characterization reports for those performing remediation on former resource extraction sites, software instruction and help guides, and edits the research of others as well. His true passion is writing dark, psychological thrillers. His work includes Broken Bones, a collection of his short stories, Redemption the first in the Samuel Elijah Johnson Series, Temptation the sequel to Redemption, along with the horror Satanarium, co-authored with Poppet, a brilliant author from South Africa and published by Wild Wolf Publishing. His next novel, Stray Ally, will be published March 4th by Tirgearr Publishing. The final in the Samuel Elijah Johnson Series, Confession will be published May 1st.
Troy lives with his wife of twelve years, two of his five children and two very talented dogs. He is a skier, cyclist, hiker, fisherman, hunter, and a terrible beginning golfer.

You can find Troy at: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon | Smashwords | Linkedin

Author Giveaway
Best story of a dog (Stray Ally) that you rescued or that helped you through a hard time sent to author@troylambertwrites.com by March 29th wins a $25 Amazon gift card. Winner and story shared on my blog Monday, March 31st. Share your story today!

WMS button

Leave a Reply

