Review: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter MeTitle: Shatter Me
Series: Shatter Me, book 1
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Dystopian Romance
Publication Date: November 15, 2011 by Harper
Buy Links: Amazon UK | Amazon US | B&N
Source: Purchased
Synopsis
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.Addtogoodreads

Review
Juliette has been in an asylum for crazy people for a long time without talking when she is given a roommate, a boy. He looks familiar but she doesn’t pay attention and believes she’s crazy. She’s finally removed from the asylum, only to be placed in the hands of a monster who wants to use her powers to harm others. Juliette needs to escape, maybe Adam can help her, if what he says is true?!

I am so disappointed! I have read sooooo many reviews that say Shatter Me is amazing and a must read. So much swooning and fangirling, gushing and I just didn’t see it. To be honest, I didn’t even get into it properly until I was about 80% through. It didn’t excite me, maybe my expectations were too high after reading all the reviews raving about it.

Juliette has an ability, she can harm people with her bare hands, with just a touch she can drain you. How awesome would that be? Maybe not.. At first I thought it’d be pretty awesome but after thinking it through I couldn’t imagine nor would I want it. No hugs, kisses, nothing. It must be lonely, especially her childhood. I felt so sorry for her, it’s not like it was her choice. But anyway, I applaud her bravery, she could have just done what they wanted but she fought for what she believed was right! She’s going to be a bad ass…I can see it!

Adam, what a character he is. Putting everyone else before himself. The loyalty towards Juliette and of course James was touching. Risking his life to save her from becoming a guinea pig, searching for her for years, not giving up. I just loved him, he’s courageous and charming, and wants her for who Juliette is not what she can do.

I was planning on getting sucked right in but didn’t til the end, but saying that, I’m going to have to carry on reading as I want to see where the story goes now they’re at Omega Point! Call me nosey…

3 rating

Ashton

One thought on “Review: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

